Shri NV Hegde

President, Nitte Education Trust

Nitte Vinaya Hegde can be described as an entrepreneur having made a successful foray into the field of education, a philanthropist, a technocrat, an avid sports lover, a family man and finally to describe in his own words a true human being. He towers over many others when it comes to his contribution in heralding the second renaissance in the field of education in undivided Dakshina Kannada district. Under the guidance of this great visionary, Nitte Education Trust (NET) run by him has emerged as the largest Mangalore-based educational institution catering to basic and professional education.

He is also the former Chairman of the Board of Governors of National Institute of Technology Karnataka, Surathkal (by Ministry of HRD, Govt. of India) member of the Mangalore University Syndicate & Academic Council and member of the Governing Council of Manipal Institute of Technology, Manipal. The Coastal Agenda Task Force headed by him played a key role in proposing the Special Economic Zone for this region, which is now becoming a reality. A great sports lover that he is, Vinaya Hegde was responsible for awakening the sporting spirit among Mangaloreans by conducting national sports for the first time in the district headquarters in 1984 under the aegis of Lamina Group. He had a part to play in the development of some national-level athletes from the district. 

Dr. N.R Shetty 

Former VC, B.U 

Dr. N.R Shetty is an eminent educationist and is the guiding spirit and inspiration for Dr. NSAM First Grade & P.U College, Bangalore. He is the former president of Indian Society for Technical Education, New Delhi. He is also Vice-President of International Federation of Engineering Education, Societies (IFEES), Washington D.C, USA and President of Forum of Vice-Chancellors of State Universities of Karnataka. He has also served as the Vice Chancellor of the Bangalore University for two terms. He has been the Member Secretary of Indira Gandhi National Centre for the Arts, an autonomous trust under the Union Ministry of Culture.